Our Computing Curriculum

The use of information and communication technology is an integral part of the national curriculum and is a key skill for everyday life. At Kitwell, we want to model and educate children on how to use technology positively, responsibly and safely. Our computing curriculum includes three pillars of computing: computer science, information technology and digital literacy.

 Each class has an available weekly slot in our ICT suite. Children can use desktop computers to learn through the  BGFL 365 entrust scheme of work. The BGFL 365 is a child-friendly platform that helps children learn computing skills including coding, word processing and creating digital media. Our learning is often cross-curricular and technology helps us to research, create and present information for our learning across the curriculum.

As BGFL 365 is a cloud-based platform, children’s digital work can be stored on the virtual cloud. This is checked by teachers, who complete termly assessment grids for the class. Those who are identified as needing more support are highlighted and support is then given in the following term.


When children leave us at the end of Year 6, we want them to have the skills and knowledge to become digitally literate and responsibly active participants in a digital world.

Click on the links below to find out more...

Long Term Plan

Entrust Computing Framework

Computing Policy

Online Safety Policy

Sticky Knowledge Overview

Online Safety Long Term Plan

Computer science and programming progression map of skills and content

Collecting and presenting information progression map of skills and content

Data handling, databases and spreadsheets progression map of skills and content

Digital literacy progression map of skills and content

Example Unit Plan

Example Planning appendix

Example Assessment Grid

Example Knowledge Organiser

Link to National Online Safety Website

Link to Project Evolve Website